2003-06-20

Friday Five : Hair, beautiful hair.

1.Is your hair naturally curly, wavy, or straight? Long or short?

My hair is mostly straight. It has just enough curl so that it curls under on the ends. It�s currently in a chin length bob.

2. How has your hair changed over your lifetime?

It was long when I was a little girl until the 6th grade when I decided to have it cut into an unflattering Dorothy Hamill type wedge. My bestest friend at the time had short hair so I needed to have short hair too. She looked much better with the short hair than me. I ended up looking like a Buster Brown reject. My natural hair color is dark blonde and tends to get lighter in the summer. As I grew up and quit living at the pool during the summer it didn�t get as blonde. In high school I was inspired by Madonna�s Express Yourself video to go platinum. So for just about all of my high school days I had a platinum blonde spiral permed bob. It was just lovely I assure you. In college I was too poor to have the hair colored professionally and after I turned it a not so pleasing shade of apricot I went back to a nice normal dark blonde. I also played with dark reds and browns over the years. Now I just have a few blonde streaks. I do love my hair. It�s one of the few things I truly like about my appearance. It behaves well and usually does what I ask of it. I heart my hair. 3. How do your normally wear your hair?

Since it�s in a bob it just sort of lays there. Some times if it�s hot I�ll wear a headband. I mostly just tuck it behind my ears and go. When I had long hair I usually had it in a ponytail or twisted up in a clip. 4. If you could change your hair this minute, what would it look like? It would be a beautiful yellow blonde color and I would never have to color it. My pretty blonde hair would be long, it would come to the middle of my back and be not too thin but not too thick. It would be silky smooth, perfectly straight and shiny like you wouldn�t believe. People would stop in the street and rave about my beautiful hair. Yup, I am a shallow person when it comes to my hair.

5. Ever had a hair disaster? What happened? Oh have I ever! My hair has been several shades of brassy orange due to not leaving the dye on long enough. I�ve also tried to highlight it myself and I ended up with lovely orange spots all over my head. I�ve also had it an unappealing eggplant color for a few weeks due to an unfortunate accident with a home color kit.