2003-01-06

unending chatter & dangling participles

I�ve spent entirely too much time with my husband as of late�I�m daydreaming of taking vacations alone. Shielding myself from unending chatter�

Oh how nice that sounds. He�s talked not stop for almost 13 days�I can barely get him out of the shoebox apartment for more than an afternoon. Why in the name of chile rellenos won�t his company send him to Texas for a weeklong training seminar?!?!

I also keep singing �I Want a New Drug��.that Huey Lewis & the News song. Which is making me WANT to take drugs as soon as I arrive on my doorstep this evening. But I can�t dig in to a large bottle of Rx drugs as I have a mass of stupid homework to do. I have to write a paperlett (2 page thing) on a customer service plan for a fictional pre-paid cellular phone company, make a list of all the databases that could be accessed via the crap in my purse, detail the number of clicks/steps it takes the average Joe to make an on-line reservation, and make up some intelligent bullshit to complete a fill in the blank type take home test.

I�ve got no patience for transitions today so forgive me if my writing is a bit choppier than the usual smooth prose you�ve become accustomed to.

This weekend Ian and I went to his parent�s house at the beach to do the belated Christmas thing. When we got to the beach house�no one was there. So we got a hotel room in OC and called his crazy family at their other house. They�d FORGOTTEN us. They thought it was next weekend that we were coming to visit. This is something that would destroy me if my family FORGOT I was coming to visit, but apparently this happens frequently in his family. So we spent our Saturday walking on a VERY cold beach and eating caramel corn. It was nice�when Ian would shut up�..then we woke up on Sunday and went to his �rent�s house for the �Christmas fun�.

I use the term fun very loosely. Ian�s oldest sister is going through the world�s ugliest divorce. It was all anyone talked about for 8 hours. I wanted to die. On the upside there were presents�I got a leather hobo bag and some leather gloves. Good thing I�m not a vegan. Ian got a cream colored sweater. I think his mother is allergic to color. It washes Ian out completely. The cream color that is�not colors in general.

Arrgh, maybe I�m getting a cold�maybe that �s why I�m not making any sense and writing sentences with dangling participles.