2003-01-02

bubble gum pop and new metro cars

Happy New Year and all that.

It�s been so long since I�ve updated I had to reread my last entry to see what the hell was going on�

So Christmas, it was good. I went to KY on the 21st and spent some quality time with the fam. Ian arrived via Delta on Christmas Eve, he was scheduled to land at 11:30 pm but his plane didn�t really arrive until 12:30. So really he landed on Christmas Day. Jimmy and his new girlfriend, Leah, went with me.

Jimmy�s girlfriends are usually one of two types of girl.

Type One:

Former/ present cheerleader who is now deeply embedded in the quest to become a playboy centerfold. They were too much make up and are incredibly snobby.

Type Two:

Former / present soccer/volleyball/softball/track/basketball star with a strong mind and some type of competition fetish. These girls are always pretty but in a less playboy centerfold way.

I tend to like the type twos better but Leah is a class unto herself. She is from Lawrenceburg, was a cheerleader in high school, and now works as a nurse�s assistant at the local doctor�s office. She recently enrolled in nursing school. She tends to wear rings on every single finger of both hands. That would drive me nuts. She also has colored her hair to a strange brassy red/brown/gold color. Which does drive me nuts. Her family has had some well-publicized issues with domestic problems with alcohol. Needless to say my mother is not to enthused with this new girlfriend.

She�s very nice, and desperately wants to marry my silly brother. She actually told me that. Needless to say, I was taken aback. Jimmy when asked says he is not in the market for a wife & has told Leah this. She seems ignoring this, but Jimmy doesn�t want to break up. To this I say�what? Why would you continue in a relationship if you weren�t in love? Especially if the non-lover has told the one who IS in love how he feels. I am so confused by this entire ordeal. But anyway, maybe he�ll move on soon.

On to better things, Ian bought me a MP3 player, which is cool, but I can�t find any good sites where I can download songs by artists I�ve heard of for free. I can get a billion unsigned bands, but no fluffy pop songs by Justin Timberlake�.and this is why I have the damn thing, so I won�t have to go in to a store and actually purchase an entire cd by Justin Timberlake. But that damned record industry! They�ve wiped out all the napsters, and I�m left with unsigned bands when all I want is a good fluffy bubblegum pop song.

Today feels like Monday. It�s like yesterday was Saturday and then we seem to have skipped Sunday. I need to go home.

More random thoughts, I rode one of the new metro trains this morning and it has significantly more leg room.