2002-08-20

Ranty Pants

All right kiddies, sit back and get ready for a rant.

This is my pantsdown entry for today�and it�s all about what�s bugging me; which is a lot of stuff, surprise, surprise.

In the beginning long long ago, in a galaxy far far away, I was a single chick. Then I met the Big I and it all changed. We met, we fell in love, we married. You�d think that the sunshine and kittens would soon follow us in to the sweet hereafter. BUT, attempting to live with someone you love can be a difficult process. Especially for Ms. Pearl here. I have bad roommate tendencies. I�m messy and I hate to clean, I�m a TV hog and I don�t like to share much of anything. But I�ve managed to have a few good roommate experiences over the years, living with the Big I, however, has been the ultimate challenge.

I�m not just sharing a space with this man�I�m sharing EVERYTHING! I know I know, Marriage means sharing everything, but Sweet Bill Bellamy can�t I have a room of my own? Some space to breathe and be alone? And then not to be made to feel guilty about it? For our entire relationship we�ve had our �normal gender roles� a bit backward. The Big I�s a bit more touchy feely than me, (like a girl) while I tend to be a bit standoffish (like a guy). It�s generally worked quite well for us.

There are many mitigating circumstances that have been contributing to my mood lately.

1. We live in a 500 square foot 1 bedroom apartment, a.k.a., The Shoebox.

2. The Shoebox is crammed full of wedding gifts we can�t use due to lack of space, as we can only entertain one other person if we are both home.

3. The Big I now hates his job and wants to change it, but he whines about it instead of putting his resume out.

4. The Big I seems to believe in order to be happy one must have lots and lots of money.

5. In order to make the lots and lots of money one must live in Washington DC, nowhere else in the northern hemisphere is acceptable.

6. Moving to Kentucky in order to build a more stable family unit would be a fate worse than death for his career.

Now I don�t want to move to KY tomorrow and begin squeezing out the puppies, but I want to do that in the next couple of years. I can�t see how I could have missed the annoying materialistic side of the Big I. I can�t imagine that I have married a snobby little snot. I can�t imagine staying here in this pretentious place and raising snobby little snots�it�s just not possible. I hate to say it but IT WILL NOT HAPPEN.

Oh my, I think I�ve just cursed myself�I�ve cursed at Fate�I will be cursed with snotty little brats. Arghh

AND, my mother is getting on my nerves as well. Pooo, baaah, hissss.

AND, I start school again today�

OK, I�m done�but strangely I do not feel better.

Maybe if I Baah again�.

BAAAH!